My Chemical RomanceMy Chemical Romance’s debut album is very different from their known hits such as “Welcome to the Black Parade”, “Teenagers”, and “Famous Last Words.” This album does not contain that “mainstream” feel that you may be used to. This album has a raw, punk sound. It’s got that potential to be the band you love (or hate) today. Let’s put it this way, once you press play, the rawness that you hear, is emotion.

1. Romance

A beautiful piece of classical guitar starts the album, the piece of music may not be written by the band, but the piece is done greatly. The song is taught to many people when learning to play guitar. This piece is very calming and you think it would set the mood for an album like normally every intro does but ironically, it doesn’t.

2. Honey, The Mirror Isn’t Big Enough For The Two Of Us

Coming from a classical piece into, a great opening riff for a song (or album depending on what you think of the intro), a repeated riff until the drums come in, and then the song starts feeling more, alive, fuller. “The amount of pills I’m taking counteracts the booze I’m drinking.” He yells it pretty much and it seems to fit in the song so well. The verse seems a bit repetitive until the chorus starts, “You can cry all you want to, I don’t care how much you’ll invest yourself in me.” The song picks up and again and just has this, punk feel, and it’s so strong. You can hear the punk in it, and if they stuck with the punk scene, they might have had a huge following, but underground. They have a big following anyways, but who would have known how different it’ll be. “You won’t fuck my friends, and we’re not working out this time I mean it.” The lyrics are about a break up, and him telling a girlfriend that nothing seems to work, and whether he may want it to work or not, it’s not. “Oh baby, let me in. I’m knocking let me in.” Either, he got kicked out of his own house, or he wants it to work.

3. Vampires Will Never Hurt You

This yells something off a “Twilight Saga” soundtrack. The ominous feeling, and the darkness of it, it seems perfect. This will only work during a suspenseful scene. “And if they get me, and the sun goes down into the ground.” Correction, this song will be perfect for a horror film which is the opposite of Twilight, well depending on the viewer. “If they get me, take this spike and put the spike in my heart.” The singer is trying to say hat he needs to be killed if he gets turned into a vampire. Do you agree with that? One less vampire in this world. “Someone get me to the doctor, someone get me to a church where they can pump this venom gaping hole.” Question, what makes a person turn into a vampire? Is it the venom that makes a person a vampire or the bite, and if it is the venom, if you get rid of it, are you still a vampire? The song continues with the same feeling, slow and suspenseful and then crazy screaming, (not real screamo, just literally screaming lyrics). The song ends with some whispering, that to date I still don’t fully understand.

4. Drowning Lessons

Every song sounds different from the one before and the one after it. It’ll go from loud, to something that’s slow, and next is somewhere in between. The singing, is the same though; a bit rough, unpolished. Again, it might not be all there, but if you listen carefully, you can hear potential. It’s got a rough feeling, like if they were a “screamo” band but the screaming isn’t there so it seems as the band hasn’t perfected their “death growls.” This song seems to be nothing special, and nothing really stands out. The lyrics just like the other songs, seem a bit, “emo” as you’ll probably guess, and just because the lyrics aren’t your favorite doesn’t mean you should ignore them, and the music is better then the lyrics in this.

5. Our Lady Of Sorrows

A very “heavy” type of riff starts this song, “we could be perfect one last night and die like star crossed lovers when we fight.” Let’s face it; they may not be lyrical geniuses here. “Take my hand, and then we’ll solve the mystery of laceration gravity.” I’d like to solve the mystery of what laceration gravity is.  “Stand up fucking don’t let them see your back and take my fucking hand and never be afraid again.” Basically, behind his cursing his lyrics are about not letting a friend be alone when it comes to a fight, that’s what the lyricist meant. Sometimes, the swearing isn’t what is important, but the deeper meaning, metaphorical or not is what matters.

6. Headfirst For Halos

This song has to be the most “pumped-up” song on this album. “Well let’s go back to the middle of the day that starts it all.” This song like every other song on the album seems to be like a story. “Just think happy thoughts and we’ll fly home.” From another line in the song, the story is about him flirting on a girl and saying that to her, that line is, “Now honestly, that’s what I said to her, I said to her.” Fair assumption, don’t you think? “The red ones make me fly, and the blue ones help me fall, and I think I’ll blow my brains against the ceiling and as the fragments of my skull begin to fall.” Dark, I know it is.

7. Skylines And Turnstiles

What is said to be their first song written, it is said have been penned after the 9/11 disaster. The drums kick in with a great repeating riff. “You’re not in this alone; help me break this awkward silence.” This song has this feeling of something unique, something special, it’s different then anything and everything out there. “We walk in single file, we light our rails and punch our time.” The song talks about the “business” life, and how simple and how boring this life may be. “Hello Angel, tell me where are you? Tell me where do we go from here?” This line brings you images of thousands of people praying after the disaster, people on their knees crying after what they’ve seen. Through tragedy something amazing can happen, and thousands of people have had to be inspired about changing their lives and appreciating it a lot more after what happened on that fateful day. “After seeing what we saw, can we still reclaim our innocence?” One of the greatest lyrics I’ve ever heard or read.

8. Early Sunsets Over Monroeville

The song has a slow starting with a “sweet” simple feeling attached. “They’re holding hands and life was perfect.” See, a “sweet” type of song, the “was” implies that something went wrong. “Running away and hiding with you, I never thought they’d get me here.” Running from what? The song finally begins to explaining what went wrong, why perfect to them became a myth. “Just one bite,” could this mean more vampires? “Fought them all off just to hold you close and tight,” it’s after that line that everything starts making sense, and everything starts picking up. Picking up meaning louder and it has a different feeling in the music. “If I had the guts to put this to your head, and would anything matter, if you’re already dead, and now should I be shocked by the last thing you said, before I pull this trigger; your eyes vacant and stained. And saying you loved me, made things harder at best.” Finally the lyrics explain what the song is fully about. The song says the woman is dead, by a vampire and he should kill her, but it’s hard because she loves him, and possibly vice-versa. “But does anybody notice? There’s a corpse in this bed.”

9. The Best Day Ever

In my eyes this album has more of a “greatest hits” type of feel, no song flows with the next. One’s loud and the next one is even louder, the next would be really quiet. There’s no proper sequence done.  This album is all over the place, just like this song. “And we can run, from the backdrop of these gears.” This song, picturing it live, you can see the singer running on stage, and all over the stage, the bridge or chorus slows it down, the verse is all over the place, no structure, but it’s so damn good. “I thought I heard you say I like you.” As the song continues, it gets more toned down, and gets better. Just like the album, it’s loud, but when you listen to the calmed down and actually reality of the songs, it’s great. “One day, we’ll run away!” With that, the song is surprisingly short, and ends.

10. Cubicles

This along with Drowning Lessons is an “alright” song, where nothing really stands out. Until, the 2 minute mark at least. A catchy repeated riff starts, “I know you don’t here work here anymore.” This line or this song would be the perfect concert song where the fans are screaming the lyrics back at the band. “Just take me down; I think I’d love to die alone.” He repeats this over and over at the end of the song.

11. Demolition Lovers

The simplistic simple opening chords are plucked to start this masterpiece (in my opinion.) “Hand in mine, into your icy blues.” The drums start and then they just disappear and it’s great. Then, when the drums stay in the song, the song starts picking up, the chords are plucked louder. “And I will drive until the end with you. A liquor store or two keeps the gas tank full.” The song seems to be a similar story to that of Bonnie & Clyde, the couple who would rob liquor stores and travel across America. The song continues at the same speed and pace, so well done. “But this time I mean it, I’ll let you know just how much mean to me.” The song picks up more, and you just anticipate the “what happens next” The guitars get louder, and he starts screaming. “As days fade, and nights grow and we go cold.” This loud, metal riff comes in. Suddenly, the song feels like a brand new song, more upbeat, and more of a “showdown” feeling. “As snow falls on desert sky, until the end of every –” The music stops. Another simple chord comes in and you are left thinking, “what happened after the showdown?” “All we are, is bullets.” He starts singing, left you continuing to think about the rest of the story. “Bullets, I mean this.” This great guitar solo and drum solo comes in, that just leaves me mesmerized. This solo lasts under a minute, and how I’d wish I’d hear this longer, or even live. This part can be listened to on low volume. “Know how much I want to show you you’re the only one.” “And as we’re falling down, and in this pool of blood and as we’re touching hands, I’ll see your eyes, and I’ll meet your eyes. I mean this. Forever.” As the lines go closer to the end, his voice gets louder, and so does the music and with the last word, the song ends.

Romance 6 / 10

Honey This Mirror Isn’t Big Enough For The Two Of Us 8 / 10

Vampires Will Never Hurt You 9 / 10

Drowning Lessons 6 / 10

Our Lady Of Sorrows 7 / 10

Headfirst For Halos 8 / 10

Skylines And Turnstiles 9 / 10

Early Sunsets Over Monroeville 9.5 / 10

This Is The Best Day Ever 8.5 / 10

Cubicles 7 / 10

Demolition Lovers 10 / 10

I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love 9 / 10

