Eminem's seventh album, "Recovery."

A known rapper, maybe mostly due to controversy of his albums and songs that include lyrical content of death and rape. A successful career that unfortunately went downhill due to the death of his friend DeShaun  “Proof” Holton. The man that was Eminem’s right hand man. After the death of his friend, he got more addicted to the pills that he was beginning to take during his Encore album. He blames the pills for the bad reception of his last two albums, and reassures his fan’s that this album will be better than Encore (2004) and Relapse (2009). Is he telling the truth and will this album make up for the last two albums?

1. Cold Wind Blows

The music begins and it screams Relapse, and I’m scared. “Cause some things, just don’t change, it’s better when they stay the same.”  The suspense of another Relapse kicks in, and the suspense is strong. “Fuck ’em all, tell ’em all. Eat shit. Here we go again.” The beat drops, and it comes sounding much different and much better. The first official (I don’t count that intro as real lyrics) lyrics off the album, “You can get the dick, just call me the ball sac.” It’s official all right, he’s back. His flow is crazy, and his lyrics are crazy, that’s if you can understand him. “Make my lips pucker up like Elton John, cause I’m just a mean cock-sucker.” Is it just me, or is Em the only one allowed to do this? Call himself out on being a mean “cock-sucker.” The chorus kicks in and Eminem says “Oh, oh oh oh oh, as cold as the cold wind blows.” He interrupts himself himself by saying, “Fuck it, I’m a loose cannon.” His epic flow with crazy lyrics continue: “I kick a bitch in the cunt, make her queef and sound like a fucking whoopee cushion.” (Somebody has to be laughing from this, I know I do.) Highlights in this song for me, is when he gets struck by lighting, twice back to back, and also when he’s got what supposed to be Marshall screaming to Slim Shady. “Put your hoes down! (Shady ease up! Man Chill) Nah, I can’t damn it.” The lightning is quickly followed by God, talking to Slim Shady. “During in an earthquake, urine in you’re face cause you’re fake. Ah, what the fuck that hurt. Wait! Ah, what the fuck, I got struck by lightning. Alright I quit, God I give up. Call it evil that men do, God forgive me for my pen do.” This is the part, where God forgives Shady, and Marshall for everything he has ever written. God replies by saying, “If you continue, to hell I send you.”  I would try and say that with something like that this album could go in one of two ways. A way more serious outlook, and not so many “joke-crazy” type songs, or all of them are like that and he says at the end, that he’s going to hell.  The next verse, is wordplay on wordplay, the lyrics are insane, it’s classic wordplay by Eminem.  The verse ends with him saying, “The last thing you want me to do is spit a rhyme and say that I was writing and I thought of you.” He finishes the song by him singing, and the final words of the song are “I guess this is how you made me.”

2. Talking 2 Myself (Feat. Kobe)

The next song starts, and Em is talking saying how he’s thankful for his fans, and how his fans are still here for him while “figured some shit out.” Kobe comes in with the hook, such a great hook. Guitars are behind his voice, and it sounds great. “Is anybody out there? It feels like I’m talking to myself.” The chorus is great, Kobe’s voice is great. Eminem’s flow comes and it’s great, but what’s to say about that? Nothing. It’s Eminem he’s known for his great flow, and does not need any more of a comment. In this song, he mentions about his dis tracks that are towards Lil’ Wayne and Kanye West. “I almost made a song dissing Lil’ Wayne it’s like I was jealous of him cause of the attention he was getting. I felt horrible about myself, he was spitting and I wasn’t. Almost went at Kanye too.” Em continues saying that if he did then Wayne and West would have murdered him. He mentions how his friend Proof there to stop him which is his reason why he almost did it, (an interview later Em admitted to recorded the Wayne dis) and after taking pills to convince himself to do it, part of him told him not to do it. His second verse, the first line is deep if you think about it, “Marshall you’re no longer the man, that’s a bit of a pill to swallow.”  I believe that’s his way of saying, that’s why he did it, took all the pills and couldn’t stop. The fact that he wasn’t seen the same way anymore, he was seen as worse, or “not the man.” He explains how nobody was really there around, or to help. “I must be talking to the wall though,  I don’t see anybody else  (I guess I keep talking to myself)” The last part is Kobe singing the track, and it works and sounds so good. Em continues to be himself, and swears, and jokes, and gets serious. The wordplay is great. He tells us, that he doesn’t count his last two albums, “My last two albums don’t count, Encore I was on drugs, Relapse I was flushing them out.” He finishes the song with, “I’m back with a vengeance homie, Weezy keep your head up, TI keep your head up, Kanye keep your head up. Don’t let up, keep slaying em, Rest In Peace to DJ AM ’cause I know what it’s like, I struggle with this shit every day.” This kills the song with this, and after he mentions how he didn’t mean anything to people he was going through things, but for everyone else he’s back, and he’ll be gunning for anybody else to dis and murder, in a song of course.

3. On Fire

With this song, I’ll be honest, the lyrical wordplay and metaphors and everything that makes go hard, it’s all there. I personally, don’t LOVE the beat of the song, and can’t get into it, I can listen to it, but it’s not one of my favorites off the album, it’s up there for type of lyrics, but the beat doesn’t do it for me. I enjoy the beat, but it’s not there. The verse comes in and he starts by saying, “Yo, yesterday my dog died. I hog tied a ho.” Classic em? “Hot headed like ghost rider, coldhearted as spiderman throwing a spider in the snow.” A great allusion to himself, relating to Spiderman and Ghost Rider, of all people. His lyrics continue, on point but they continue, slowly and drag’s on. The lyrics is there, the beat’s almost there, but his flow; great but no emotion. It’s like he’s reading off a paper. It’s ironic, the one part I like the most, the hook. Em calls it bullshit, “I just wrote a bullshit hook in between two long ass verses.” This means, it wasn’t great, but I found the hook has more emotion to me, at least when he’s singing. Other ad-libs in the chorus, “I’m so sick, ambulances pulling me over and shit.” Honestly, I listen to this song, because the lyrics, are brilliant, (too much to write, search the lyrics instead) but not for the emotion and the feeling that comes off with the song. It’s great, but does not compare to the first two songs.

4. Won’t Back Down (Feat. P!nk)

I know, I thought it too. “Pink? WHAT?!” Let’s just say this, his flow is CRAZY, it’s similar to the one of Despicable (A freestyle over Drake’s “Over” beat, and Lloyd Banks “Beamer, Benz, or Bentley” beat, if you haven’t heard. 5 words for you: What are you waiting for?) Though Pink’s verse, is random and the beat seems to much of a “metal” or a rip-off of a metal feeling, the beat is crazy, and this song has BETTER wordplay then On Fire, and this time it HAS that emotion. I don’t know where to start with this song, the flow; insane. Let’s say for a lot of the songs on this album, I’m going to keep this songs short, otherwise I’d be forced to analyze every other line, that’s how good his wordplay has become. “I gave Bruce Wayne a Valium and said settle your fucking ass, I’m ready for combat-man. Get it? Calm, bat man?” See what I mean? Wordplay. The chorus soon comes, and it’s so short, it’s great. It gets straight back into the song. The drumming behind the verses, is great, it’s non-stop and the loop is just, perfect. The crazy flow, meets and agrees with the crazy beat. He mentions something about his dick, figures. “I’mma measure my dick. Shit, I need six inches more.” The next line, a reference to the disease: Swine Flu. Yes, he uses the H1N1 disease in a song. “Need I remind you, that I don’t need the fucking swine flu to be a sick pig? You’re addicted – I’m dope.” Meaning, the person is addicted to him, the “dope.” Third verse now; one word: killer. He kills, and rips apart everything in the third verse. My favorite part, is when the music turns down, and then turns back up, his lyrics actually go and explain why it does it. “Bitch, you listening? Trying to turn me down?” This is when it turns down, “Slut! I’m talking to you, turn me back up! Are you insane? Trying to talk over me in the car. Shut the fuck up when my shit’s playing!” Funny, ain’t it?

5. W.T.P. (White Trash Party)

The beat, is supposed to be a party type of beat, (can tell from name) and you can hear it, but it seems to me like it’s halfway from a rap song, and the dance type beat. To me, it’s just about his weakest song, lyrically and beat wise also. It’s still a good song, but it’s not like he’s trying to do anything big with it. This might be his “joke” song off the album, by the chorus you can kind of hear it, “No one likes to be alone, so go grab somebody. Cause we’re having a white trash party.” During the second verse, something about what his voice, it makes me get more into the song,  it’s better then the first verse. I can’t personally even find something to describe while reading the lyrics. My favorite part is the bridge; “Long as up to no good, get on that floor man.” My favorite line, “I’ll be the S until the L M  to S-H-ady, why I don’t need a tank top to be a wife beater.” The song ends, and I can honestly say only one thing. “Finally over.”

6. Going Through Changes

Now that the catastrophe of a White Trash Party is over with, it can continue to something far greater. The song  begins with a sample of a Black Sabbath song by the name of Changes. The sample is Sabbath front-man Ozzy Osbourne singing “I’m going through changes.” The beat, it’s slow and Em’s flow is a bit slowly as well, it doesn’t have that crazy Slim Shady type of beat, so this instantly made me think that it’s Marshall’s real side coming out. Ozzy’s rough voice works just perfectly in this song. It gives chills. “I’m debating on leaving this world, this evening. Even my girls can see that I’m grieving. I try and hide it, but I can’t. Why do I act all high and mighty?” Em thought committing suicide? That’s a depressing thought to the fans of rap and music alone. He mentions that the only thing he’s scared of his own daughter. I believe that the reason why is because he knows what he’s going through, and he can’t deal with it. He doesn’t know what to do about it. Second verse, it seems like somebody is talking to him about what he’s going through, “Marshall, what happened to you? You can’t stop with these pills, and you’ve fallen off with your skills, and your own fans are laughing at you.” I’m not sure who this is, but on one hand they had a point. It seems to get into more of an argument. “They say Proof just flipped out, homie just swift out and bust.”  The person is talking, and now Em replies. ” Nah, it ain’t Doody to do that! He wouldn’t fucking shoot at nobody. He’d fight first.” Imagining this scene is from the way he talks, and he describes it, I can imagine it perfectly clear. Ozzy comes in again and sings. Sidenote:  Ozzy and Em, that’d be one crazy collaboration. This, is the verse that gets to me every time. “I ain’t slowing down for no one. I am almost homeward bound. Almost in a coma now. Yeah homie, don’t look now. Daddy, don’t you die on me. Daddy, better hold your ground. Fuck. Don’t I know the sound of that voice? Yeah, baby hold me down.” The daddy part has a little girl singing along, (possibly Hailey) and it’s sad, and when I listen to this, it’s tough not to cry. This line comes with an ambulance sound, it reminds me of Deja Vu off Relapse. In all truth, it’s a more descriptive continuation or maybe prequel if you may, to the song Deja Vu. The next verse, he says, “when I come I’m a bulletproof. I’ll do it just for proof.” He admits that he still loves Hailey’s mother Kim. Yes, the same Kim that he’s killed in songs, and he admits he loves her and would do anything for her on any day, it’s just never worked out. I like the real Em, when he’s honest, it’s much better and amazing.

7. Not Afraid

Fact: you’ve heard it before. If you haven’t heard this song, and you want this album, something is wrong with you and where you are. A strange coincidence; every time I play this song, a car passes by me and plays it as well, most of the time in the same verse. This song, it helps prove what he’s been through, and it shows how strong he really can be. The beat is great, it’s something different. He doesn’t hold any thing back, he shows himself in this, and that’s the Em that I enjoy most. The Marshall Mathers, rather then Slim Shady. His lyrics, are strong, and touching and his flow is great. “You can try and read my lyrics off of this paper before I lay ‘em. But you won’t take the sting out these words before I say ‘em” He calls himself a curse, he calls what he does and he can do a curse. “Like a fuck you for Christmas, his gift is a curse. Forget the Earth, he’s got the urge to pull his dick from the dirt and fuck the whole universe” His wordplay is on point during this album, “you lied through your teeth, for that. Fuck your fillings.” The Fillings refer to fillings in your teeth, and your personal feelings. “Let’s be honest, that last Relapse CD was “ehhh”, perhaps I ran them accents into the ground.” The second line, using the same accent that made people dislike Relapse so much. My favorite verse is the final one, it’s touching, and you can hear the emotions in his voice. “I promise to focus solely on handling my responsibility as a father, so I solemnly swear to treat this roof like my daughter’s and raise it, you couldn’t lift a single shingle on it.” He’s back, and he’s great, and nothing is going to stop him anymore, not for a while. “I’m raising the bar, I shoot for the moons but I’m too busy gazing at stars, I feel amazing, and I’m not afraid.” Chills, anybody?

8. Seduction

This song is about taking someone’s girlfriend away because of the reason, he’s a better rapper. The flow changes, its slow then speeds up, it’s great. I’m going to minimize my talking about wordplay because, it’s Em, and you got to know it’s there. “She’s on my dick cause I spit better than you. What you expect her to do? How you expect her to act in the sack, when she’s closing her eyes, fantasizing of digging her nails in my back during this track.” Ouch. The second verse, its killer. After my favorite part of the song, (“There’s a seven disc changer in her car, and I’m in every slot. And you’re not. Aw.” The flow and beat, and its insane) the flow changes, and it just blows right by you. You’ll sit there, replaying the verse, rewinding it, reading the lyrics saying, “Did he say that?” I don’t have anything to say about the second verse. Nothing critical, just tons and tons of good things. The last verse it’s crazy good, but the second verse is still better, to me.

9. No Love (Feat. Lil’ Wayne)

Yes, they sampled “What Is Love?” by Haddaway or in other words. “That song from Night At The Roxbury.” The intro gives a “dark type” feeling. You can hear the lighter flicker, and for any fan of Lil’ Wayne, you know what that means. Soon after, you hear “Young Money.” Wayne’s verse goes first. I have nothing bad to say about this song. The beat and the sample is insane. The hook is crazy, it’s a “club banger”, and it goes so hard. Wayne kills it, and Em goes harder and kills it as well. “So it’s fuck the world. Get a child out her.” Wayne’s flow is sick, it’s something different. “Married to the game but she broke her vows. That’s why my bars are full of broken bottles, and my nightstands are full of open bibles.” The beat rewinds and comes back great. “I’ve got my gun; semi-cartermatic.” A reference to the semi-automatic weapon he wasn’t arrested for. “Won’t knock me down. No love lost. No love found.” Weezy’s verse is on point, and the chorus sung by both Em and Wayne comes in, and then Em’s verse comes. “I’m alive again.” It shows, greatly. My favorite, a reference to Kanye’s Taylor Swift incident. “Get these wack cocksuckers off stage. Where the fuck is Kanye when you need him? Snatch the mic from him, bitch I’mma let you finish a minute.” Wow. It just gets better and better. “You can still get roasted because the Marsh(mellow and himself) is not mellow.” “Standing on my monopoly board, that means I’m on top of my game.” He is, really, really is. The song is towards the people who hated on him, when he needed all the help he could, “Where were you when I fell and needed help? You get no love.” I know, go hit that “previous” button, listen to it a couple more times. You want to, don’t you?

10. Space Bound

The beat is slow, and it’s real calming, and the lyrics are deep. He speaks about a relationship, which isn’t clear about him and a woman or him and drugs. Seeing how clear and serious he has been throughout the album it makes more sense, that it would be the drugs. “Love is evil, spell it backwards I’ll show you.” Here, he means evol, which sounds just like evil. I choose to apologize here to a friend of mine, Lopez, you were right. The flow is nice, it’s sort of smooth and slow and goes how the beat goes. Em is rapping over pretty much a guitar. The chorus reminds me of a corny cute type of thing, “Your heart’s the moon and I’m aiming right at you.” There’s nothing to me that stands out, it’s a simple song, and though it’s nice, and good, it’s nothing compared to the other songs he has.

11. Cinderella Man

An interesting concept, he raps a couple bars as a question and then the sample (I believe it’s a sample only), replies Cinderella Man before his verses begin. “Smash an hour glass, grab the sand, take his hands and cup em. Spin around to freeze a clock, take the hands of time and cuff em. Cinderella Man, Cinderella Man, Cinderella Man, Cinderella Man.” The drumming, is great, it’s sick and flows well with his verse and his flow as well. Em disses Relapse, again. “Fuck my last CD that shit’s in the trash.” The sample seems so much like rapper Nate Dogg which have been numerous amount of songs by Eminem. It’s a good song, and it pumps you up, but other than, nothing really stands out from this song.

12. 25 to Life

The song begins with singing, “Too late for the other side, caught in a chase. 25 To life.” I’m going to spoil the song for you right now. The song is about a divorce, to a woman. Who? I won’t spoil it all at once. I’ll leave a little surprise. “I don’t think she understands the sacrifices that I made; maybe if this bitch had acted right I would have stayed.” The beat, is really nice, and it’s a personal favorite of mine, and I can’t listen to the song unless it surrounds me and goes in both earphones. The lyrics come, and you can hear the anger and his emotion in the way he spits his lyrics. I can’t find a song that I can relate to by him, that makes me feel the way I do when I hear this. “Why I’m still married to you still man I don’t know, but tonight I’m serving you with papers. I’m divorcing you.” Though the lyrics aren’t what stand out so much to me, but rather the emotion he delivers with it. It shows that rapping is his love, and that he can take what he’s feeling and use it, to as much as he can. It’s great, and people only try to do. “When you spoke of people who meant most to you, you left me off your list. Fuck you hip-hop, I’m leaving you.” I would never want him to quit, he’s unique and no other rapper could ever match him. The concept of a love for music being a woman has been done before, “I Love H.E.R.” (Common), “Homecoming” (Kanye West), and I’m sure much more, but I prefer this to everything else.

13. So Bad

The first Dr. Dre beat on the album, it’s a surprise. You can kind of tell the difference between the songs and this, this seems like a song Em would rap on normally. The hook is my favorite part of the song. The lyrics aren’t fully there in my opinion, it’s a bit joking and it’s a good song to listen to, even just for a laugh. “Don’t I say the dopest words?” It’s the truth, but when referring to a song with his dope words, don’t use this song, there’s nothing really special.

14. Almost Famous

The intro, gives me chills, and I love it. The talking/whispering effect, it’s great. “I stuck my dick in this game like a rapist.” I like it, already. I love the beat, I love the chorus, I love the flow, the lyrics is not the greatest, but the song is insane. “I’m back for revenge, I lost the battle, that ain’t happening again, I’m at your throat like strep, I step strapped with a pen, and Metaphors wrote on my hand, some are distorting my memory.” The second verse steps up where the first verse was weak. Best line in the song. “Now get off my dick, dick’s too short of a word for my dick, Get off my antidisestablishmentarianism you prick!” Absolutely no comment to that, what’s to say? “As the cold wind blowing, this world ain’t gonna know what hit it, he did it, he made it, he’s finally famous!” That final lines, leads right into the song that will definitely make him so much more famous then before.

15. Love The Way You Lie (Feat. Rihanna)

Mostlikely the next single off the album, and I don’t blame it. It’s an amazing song, and this song will build the hype and sell the records it deserves. It will reach the top of your iTunes play count, it’s reached mine. It’s unique, ish. It’s similar to the other song produced by Alex Da Kid that I’m sure you’ve heard, Airplanes. The song seems like an explanation to a relationship that constantly fights, and even through everything he still wants to be with her. Let’s face it, good chance you’ve heard lyrics from this song, on twitter, or facebook or anything in between. It’s an amazing song, and again, hit that previous button, but not too many times. You’ll miss out from my favorite song.

16. You’re Never Over

The last album, it was dedicated to his friend Proof, and the dedication said how he couldn’t write a song good enough for a tribute track, so he dedicated the entire album to him. I loved that, and I read it, and I remember I found it really touching, and it literally made my eyes get watery. This is the track. This is the song he finally released, his tribute song to Proof. Is it worth it? Damn, straight. This song is filled with emotion, it’s something like I’ve never heard. The chorus comes in, Em singing high notes, and let’s be honest, the singing is bad. It’s not in his range, and it shows. “If Proof could see me now, I know he’d be proud.” I’m sure he is. The first verse is not my favorite. He doesn’t mention Proof except in the first line, and I wish he did. The second verse is where he doesn’t control himself or hold back. If I could, I would quote the entire verse. “For you, I wanna write the sickest rhyme of my life.” I have not read his sickest rhyme, but I’d have to go as far as saying this song is own of my personal favorites of all time. I’m just going to finish this song by quoting my favorite lines. “just the other night, had another dream about you. You told me to get up, I got up and spread my wings and I flew, you gave me a reason to fight, I was on my way to see you. You told me nah Doodi you’re not laying on that table I knew I was gonna make it, soon as you said think of Hailie, I knew There wasn’t no way that I was gonna ever leave them babies, and Proof not many are lucky enough to have a guardian angel like you Lord I’m so thankful, please don’t think I don’t feel grateful, I do.. Just grant me the strength that I need, for one more day to get through. So homie this is your song, I dedicate this to you. I love you Doodi” Doodi, is a nickname for Em by Proof, see: lyrics of Won’t Back Down. “I’m the shit, why do you think Proof used to call me Doodi.” Those lyrics, are touching and it’s sad and nice of him.

17. Here We Go

The so-called “Bonus” track (just because, it’s not listed on the back of the album) is the finale to his latest masterpiece. “Girl I think you just might of tried to pull a motherfuckin’ fast one; I’m mad. You just hurt my goddamn feeling and that was the last one I had!” I don’t think Em will ever run out of lyrics. The lyrics are insane. Wordplay insane. Beat, insane. Flow, never heard a bad flow out of his mouth so, insane as well. The song ends with him saying, “until next time”, so what can I say, except well. I can’t wait.

Cold Wind Blows 8.5 / 10

Talking 2 Myself 9 / 10

On Fire 7.5 / 10

Won’t Back Down 8 / 10

White Trash Party 7 / 10

Going Through Changes 8.5 / 10

Not Afraid 9 / 10

Seduction 8.5 / 10

No Love 9.5 / 10

Space Bound 8 /  10

25 To Life 8.5 / 10

So Bad 8 / 10

Almost Famous 8.5 / 10

Love The Way You Lie 9.5 / 10

You’re Never Over 11 / 10

Here We Go 9 / 10

Recovery 9 / 10

